Home > ADHD & Gifted, raising boys, raising girls > Tyler & Halle’s Conferences

Tyler & Halle’s Conferences

Parent teacher conferences were about two weeks ago – had Tyler’s first and he’s doing really well. No behavioral problems, his focus/attention is good. He’s not consistent with getting his homework turned in though – but that’s almost to be expected with him. Other than that, his handwriting is now what she considers grade level, and she confided that his handwriting is not the worst in the class by any means. BUT, it is still laborious for him, which is one of two problems contributing to the improvements he needs to make in language arts. Because it takes him so long to write, he often loses his thought before he’s done with the physical activity of writing. He does anything and everything he can to cut whatever he is writing about short – very few details, frequently fragmented sentences. She feels his analytical/logical nature also is a hindrance and she wants him to work on being silly/funny/creative in writing, and that it’s OK to write about a character in a way that you wouldn’t talk about a real person (like maybe make the character ugly, or crazy, or stupid, etc). So that’s going to be our focus for him with his tutors. Oh, and his reading fluency doesn’t match his comprehension and apparently Tyler interests lie in/he is choosing books that are beyond his fluency so I need to help him work on that.

Pleased as punch, I head over for Halle’s conference. I got over to see Mrs. A.G., and I didn’t think it was going to go well when she started off by saying ‘Halle, Halle, Halle’. I commented as such, and she told me she is not very happy with my daughter right now. She said she thinks she is a very sweet girl, but she is not happy with her. Apparently, Halle does *nothing*. She comes into class with a smile on her face, but then goes to her seat and sits there, and usually does nothing while the rest of the class writes the morning message “Good Morning. Today is (month, day).” I swear to all that is I almost fell out of my seat when she told me this story…. the other day B.A.G. told her she couldn’t have treat or free time or whatever was going on that day until she did the Wednesday morning message – which Halle did. But the on Thursday, thinking it had worked well the day before and she gave Halle the same instruction, Halle came to her two minutes later and said ‘I’m done!’ She had taken the paper she used Wednesday and erased Wednesday and 29, and wrote Thursday and 30 in their place. I was so glad Halle was not there; I couldn’t have held it in. B.A.G. told me she thought it was pretty funny too, but would never tell Halle that. She figures if Halle was smart enough to do that, Halle is plenty smart enough to be writing the message every day like she’s supposed too. B.A.G. tells me that she looks at Halle, and Halle looks at her, and she looks at Halle, and Halle looks at her. She says she gets the impression Halle thinks it’s her job to sit there and look pretty; she will look over and Halle will be straightening her skirt, or adjusting her socks, etc. She gets a 100% on almost every spelling test, and got an 85% on the last reading test. Academically Halle is one of her best students, but she isn’t doing anything to demonstrate that. She has moved her seat several times, no results. She has tried time outs, but that seems to suit Halle just fine (I can agree, Halle used to put herself in time out all the time). She’s at a loss, I’m going to try and figure out a way to give her some incentive that will be easy for B.A.G. and I both to follow through on. She and I also talked about kinder standards and how lax the other kinders in the school and district seem to be. I told her how I was totally overwhelmed at the first of the year by her pace but had to say I am so impressed because obviously it isn’t overwhelming the kids and they are clearly rising to the challenge, Halle included. She complimented my list of questions and asked where I got them, so that made me feel like a good mom 🙂

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

