Home > Big Talks, don't make mommy pee herself..., raising boys, School, Wild Child > The birds and the bees and the flowers and the trees…

The birds and the bees and the flowers and the trees…

Tyler actually got in trouble last Thursday at PAC because he and another boy were talking about sex and privates. I talked to Tyler and he said that Rashaad said that Tyler had a pretend girlfriend and he was pretending to have sex with her. I was giggling when I asked Tyler if he knew what sex was, and he burst out, exasperated, ‘No, I don’t, and that’s why I never pretend to do it!’ Anyway, at that point I could totally see how Tyler would have felt compelled to yell back ‘no I’m not having sex’ etc. I’ve always had the approach that if they’re old enough to ask, they’re old enough to know… and while Tyler knows how babies grow and how they get out, and all the ‘correct’ names for body parts, he’s never asked how babies start or exactly what sex is. But I think we need to have that talk. I love his naivete, but I don’t want it to cause him to be a target for being coaxed to do or say inappropriate things (like yelling ‘I’m a gaylord’)…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

