Home > Random File > Quotable Quote

Quotable Quote

“Why should any of us be confined within a single area of religious culture? When I read Amos and Jeremiah, I say ‘Would to God I were a Jew.’ When I read the Parable of the Good Samaritan, I say ‘Would I were a Galilean.’ When I read the 13th of 1st Corinthians, I wish with all my heart that I might be a Christian after the manner of the Apostle Paul. When I think of Buddha and his Eightfold Path, I say, ‘I, too, would be a Buddhist.’ And when I remember the trial of Socrates, I say in awe but with exalted spirit, ‘Oh that I might be so brave a humanist.’ And thus at the end, there is nothing I can say but that, like Emerson and Channing, I want to live with the privilege of the illimitable mind.”



— A. Powell Davies

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

