Home > ADHD & Gifted > Psychiatrist Visit

Psychiatrist Visit

I saw Dr. Thomas yesterday and talked to him about the problems I’m having as well as the behaviors that made me hit so high on OCD; basically, the behaviors that appear OCD aren’t so much that I’m afraid something bad will happen if I don’t do certain things, it’s more behaviors I’ve adapted to compensate for the ADD (for example, I am constantly checking for my keys, I can’t close my car door unless my keys are in my hand, I can’t walk away from my desk unless my keys are in my hand, I go to wash dishes and notice that the garbage disposal switch is dirty, so then I need to clean all the light plates in the house because if I don’t do it NOW it won’t get done… then I notice the wall around the light plate is dirty, I wash that too… then I notice the door jams and the doors are dirty… now all my light plates, walls, doors are clean but I’m exhausted and there are still no clean dishes). I told him about how it seems like the more the kids need of me, the less able I am to handle the household and perform adequately at work… and that I’d like to take the next step in my department, but I am really concerned that I won’t be able to do the job adequately because of the nature of the job. He feels that I’m definitely doing everything he would suggest to someone with my condition/in my situation. He gave me some Strattera samples to try, which I started yesterday. They take a while to build up, unlike stimulant meds, but I definitely feel different… I can’t exactly describe how. But for the first time in I can’t remember how long, I was able to keep up with my morning meeting and not have my named called twice every time one of my requirements came up in the report. I wasn’t focused on the meeting completely; I was reading the paper online like I usually do, but I was still able to keep part of my mind focused enough on what was going on in the meeting to be prepared when they needed my updates on certain parts.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

