“Never”

Daddy’s Girl went through a phase (she seems to be leaving it since having left the YMCA) where she constantly told me no. I can’t stand that, but since the other two never told me no, I really had no idea what to do about it. Telling her not to tell me no, just resulted in her screaming NO.

One night, I think it was the third week in July cuz Wild Child wasn’t home yet, just after we got home, she told me no and I just wasn’t in the mood to hear it. I got nose to nose with her and gave her the finger lecture about telling me no. Went on to make dinner and whatnot. Later that evening when I went back to load the dishwasher, I noticed Daddy’s Girl cup was still on the table. She clears her own dishes, so I asked her to bring it to me so I could put it in the dishwasher.

That child crossed her arms, lowered her head and literally glowered at me and stated, with emphasis,

“Nevewr.”

My head spun and Princess stared at me open-mouthed… ‘Where did she get THAT word?” The entire rest of the night, every single time I asked Daddy’s Girl to do something, she responded the same way.

What could I do but try desperately not to laugh? I told her not to tell me no, and she didn’t.
Now it’s less confrontational… she crosses her arms and usually shakes her head and says ‘never, never’ in a petulant, I’m about to burst into tears voice.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

