Braids and Headscarves

January 8, 2006 – Sunday 9:24 PM

Braids and Headscarves

Current mood: aggravated

So first of all, let me say that no, I can’t french braid. Apparently this is a major faux paux for the mother of biracial girls. Well, I didn’t learn to do it as a child, and never had reason to when I only had one child to care for, or even when I only had two children to care for. By the time Halle had enough hair to braid, she was almost four years old, I was leaving her father, I was buying a house, raising my adult sister, and I had a son going through ADHD hell and an infant who never left the sling and seemed to be permanently attached to my left tit. I am, in case you didn’t know, left handed. Not to mention, Halle’s hair is superfine, so it’s not like I’d be learning on hair that actually has enough substance to freakin’ hold onto. And Ro may be back in the picture, but he’s out on contract so it’s not too much different than if we were still separated.

So there. I can’t french braid, I don’t cornrow, I’m not particularly inclined to learn, and I’m not ashamed of it.

I had Arria’s daughter, Jennifer, braid back the top and sides of both the girls’ hair this morning. I just can’t get up the energy to do a darn thing with their hair in the morning these days, and they look fine in the morning with their curls au naturale, but by the time I pick them up at night, they look like Orphan Annie. Halle’s hair is so fine that cornrows, even Jennifer’s expertly braided cornrows, look whispy within fifteen seconds. Which is why I rarely go to the trouble to have it done. And Daija had never had hers done, so I had no idea what she might try and do in protest.

So I went to Mid-K, the local black hair and beauty supply store, and bought some of those silk scarf thingies to wrap around their heads, in hopes of preserving a cute hairstyle for at least a week, that won’t require me do really do anything with the tops and sides.

I may as well just learn how to do cornrows… who the hell knew how hard it was to tie one of these damn things on a head? Daija, who had Jennifer and I both slackjawed when she totally cooperated and never made a peep and was so still that her head was done in about 1/4 the time Halle’s took, was not nearly as excited about the headscarf and melted into one of her ‘queen mother of all temper tantrums’ fits. Finally, the umpteenth time I tied it on her head, I sang a song from Dora.

“Yo ho ho, we’re doing the pirate dance”

And this convinced her to leave it on. Unfortunately, I had to listen to her rendition of the pirate song of and on for several hours. Fortunately, th

  1. Becky
    August 18, 2009 at 6:02 AM

    LOL! I swear…the things we go through for their hair. I can french braid and have since I was a young girl, but I am STILL getting the hang of cornrows. They are a different breed of braid altogether.

    I gave up on scarves and went for the silky caps, ultimately.

    • August 18, 2009 at 4:29 PM

      That’s what I did too… they work better than a scarf would for the “doodles” too 🙂

  2. August 18, 2009 at 9:02 AM

    Kim is an expert in both types of braids…the girl is gifted!!
    I can kinda do french braids and mini-cornrowns; however, like Becky said…they are a different breed of braid! Mine are def not “professional” like Kim’s – – but, it keeps the hair outta the face. 🙂

  3. August 18, 2009 at 7:37 PM

    I can only french braid my own hair. My husabnd could cornrow a little, but we lucked out when one of our girls is gifted in that area. You should see the teased beehive hair do my 15 year old does. Mighty impressive!

    • August 18, 2009 at 7:39 PM

      Laura, I’m really hoping Halle turns out to be a braiding fiend… now that my best friend’s daughter is grown & about to finish school & get a real job, I need a braider with a generous “friends & family discount” policy 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

