Home > Daddy's Girl, don't make mommy pee herself..., Princess, School, Wild Child > Cool! The whole crew’s gonna be at the sock hop!

Cool! The whole crew’s gonna be at the sock hop!

Just let the title marinate for a little while. It’s not just me that thinks there’s something fundamentally hysterical about any sentence that contains both the term ‘crew’ and the phrase ‘sock hop’, is it?

Friday after I picked the kids up from the community center, Tyler asked if Jelani would be going to the sock hop at their school that night. The subject line was his response when I answered yes.

I managed not to laugh, and just gave a little hiccup as I inquired, “You have a crew?”

“Oh, yeah,” Tyler responds.

“Who all is in this crew?” I ask, as if I don’t already know the answer.

“Me, Cameron, Elijah, and Jelani,” Tyler informs me.

If you follow our blog on myspace, you probably remember Cameron and Elijah from my posts on Tyler’s stint as a small business owner and attempt at petty forgery. They’re getting quite a little reputation, the three of them. The last time the staff at the community center shared a concern with me, the story began like this… “Tyler and his posse were by the bingo machine…”

You don’t mess with the bingo machine at a community center that has a thriving senior group whose primary social entertainment consists of B-I-N-G-O. You especially do not allow oragami claws to enter any part of the machine.

I finally got a chance to meet Cameron’s mom at the sock hop, and she says she hears Tyler’s name just as often as I hear Cameron’s. I think it’s a tossup as to who gets who in trouble. I told her about the little conversation Tyler and I had about their little crew, she laughed and called them the Fab Four. In the Cha Cha Slide, she’s the lady in the denim outfit and baseball cap; I think Elijah’s mom is the lady wearing gray slacks and a burgandy top.

Halle, upon hearing Tyler list out his crew, decided she has one as well. You can probably just dub Halle, Chaz, and Kennedy ‘The Pink Ladies’ and be done with it. I wish I’d gotten more pictures of her, but in case you couldn’t tell, she wasn’t real interested in the camera.

Daija had a great time at the dance… she jumped into the picture Jelani wanted me to take of his face painting, and then grabbed his hands and started dancing. I think they may well have been the only boy/girl couple at the dance!!! But that’s my Daija, she knows her own mind and isn’t afraid to take matters into her own hands.

[rockyou id=6031082&w=426&h=320]

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

