Home > don't make mommy pee herself..., parenting, Random File > The Next Irma Bombeck…

The Next Irma Bombeck…

In a fit of frustration about two weeks ago, I decided to price some cleaning services. Needless to say I got interrupted too many times to get very far in making calls and wound up just doing a crisis clean/stash & dash my damn self.

But I wanted to share one email inquiry:

In a message dated 1/13/2006 2:09:45 P.M. US Mountain Standard Time, curlykidz writes:

I’d like to get an estimate for weekly or bi-weekly general cleaning in the area of {my location}. My home is {the size of my home}. As far as the condition, well… it’s a little cluttered, and a little grubby, but I wouldn’t qualify for FEMA assistance. My friends are still happy to eat here and show no hesitation to use the bathrooms, which I consider a good sign. I work full time and my husband is contracting out of state… and we have two school age children and a very demanding preschooler. Unless the day grows more hours, I need outside help for bathrooms, dusting, and the floors. My family is fond of clean socks and drawers and I’m fond of not breaking my neck tripping over legos and barbies… unfortunately that doesn’t leave a whole lot of time left for sweeping and mopping, which needs to be done throughout the majority of the house. I don’t have any laid carpeting, three of the bedrooms and the living room have 5×7 to 8×10 area rugs. Oh, and I can’t forget wiping down the white kitchen cabinets that I had to have. So that my kitchen would look bright and airy. I forgot the first rule of parenting, which is never, ever, ever… get anything in white. Including kitchen cabinets.

The response:

Hi Cyndi:

Thank you for inquiring about our services. I am sorry, but while we do clean in the Phoenix area, we just don’t go out as far as {your location}. Our office is at {their location}.

I have to say I certainly did enjoy reading your email. You should try to be the next Erma Bombeck. It was quite entertaining. Good luck in your search!

Not exactly what I was looking for… but flattering…

originally posted on January 31, 2006 at The Next Irma Bombeck… – CURLYGURL’s MySpace Blog.

  1. August 20, 2009 at 8:53 AM

    LOL!! Cute! 🙂

  2. August 20, 2009 at 10:03 AM

    LOL!! Gurl… you should follow in her footsteps. I love her!

    One of my favorite Erma B. quotes-
    “My theory on housework is, if the item doesn’t multiply, smell, catch fire, or block the refrigerator door, let it be. No one else cares. Why should you?”
    Erma Bombeck

    • August 21, 2009 at 9:22 PM

      I really should dig up some of her work… It’s been too long since I’ve read any!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

