Home > Big Talks, Does anybody look like me?, Princess, reflections on race > Halle’s perspective on ‘monoracial’ families – 2006

Halle’s perspective on ‘monoracial’ families – 2006

Halle’s perspective on ‘monoracial’ families – CURLYGURL’s MySpace Blog | Cyndi–s Jewels

February 15, 2006 – Wednesday 8:54 PM

 

Kids ask me if I’m Halle’s mom on a pretty regular basis since she started school… I’ve had a child ask, if I’m her mom, why is Halle black?  I’ve been asked whether Halle is black or white.  I’ve kinda gotten to a point where I can see it coming… some small child I don’t know will just be standing there, head cocked to one side, contemplating me.  I don’t mind answering… from a child it’s genuine curiosity about a concept they may not have realized possible, that families can consist of different races. It’s a little unnerving sometimes though, that it happens as often as it does. There aren’t a lot of white people in this part of town, and I’d wager that the majority of the white people who do live here, are in an interracial relationship.  So if biracial children/relationships are a foreign concept to a child, I may well be the first white person she or he has had direct contact with.  But I imagine as Halle gets older, I’ll get that question less often as her peers have more exposure than they’ve had in kinder and first grade.  But I’m rambling… this really just leads into something Halle said tonight that tickled me.

Ro’s home, which means the TV has been getting some weekday activity.  He’d left it on the George Lopez show, and since the dining room table is now home of the “Post Merger Vendor Rationalization” Project (which I secretly refer to as Christine {and yeah, I mean the horror flick about the car that took over the life of a teenager and could not be killed}), the kids got the rare treat of watching TV while eating fast food (which is becoming more of a staple).  Rambling again… sorry.

So we’re watching the George Lopez show, and Halle asks me, “Mommy, why are they all the same color?”

I looked at the TV, and while all the characters were hispanic, they weren’t exactly the same ‘color.’  So I asked her what she meant…

“You know… in the middle of white and black.” (halle-speak for brown skinned?)

It never occurred to me that she wouldn’t look at monoracial families as the “norm.”

Shared via AddThis

  1. christie
    September 3, 2009 at 4:10 PM

    LOL! I forgot about this; still love it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

