Home > Random File > Random File: 18-35

Random File: 18-35

 Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 9:56pm

So I guess 18-35 could mean different things to different people.

I mean, it could be the sentence I get slapped with for the felony I am sure to commit if that punk Milo calls my nine-year-old daughter one more time.

Or, as Shelly suggested, it could be the age of a new boy toy. Back in the day, I usually dated men around five years older… But the last two guys I dated were both five years younger… And the only issues I have there are that guys in that age group usually want to have kids. Or they already have some, & they’re still young. Even on the best of days, I do not want to birth any more babies. I’ve also done the “gift mom” thing & it requires way more energy than I have available.

You people have me all side-tracked now. Like I need help!

So anyway, I know a good bunch of you were watching the coverage of the inaugural balls, so I figured you’d know what I was talking about… And it’s really not that juicy. The Youth Ball,which one had to be between the ages of *drum roll* 18 and 35.

I got to thinking last night (a dangerous pasttime) about my “scary age” and when I’ll hit it. I have a few friends who have dreaded some pending birthday for whatever random reason, but getting older has never really bothered me. And I don’t think I’ve ever felt as confident about who I am as I have in the last three or four years. But as I was pondering the fact that I somehow could be considered a youth, which kinda boggled my mind, I remembered one Sunday last summer when I realized that if I wanted to join the “young adult group” at my church, I only had three months in which to qualify because the age range is… 18-35! I was slightly bummed at the thought. And for a minute last night I wondered if maybe 36 was my scary age. But really I was so preoccupied by the question of why.anyone would group the majority of 18-25 yo’s in the same category as most 26-35 yo’s. I could hardly even be that boggled by the idea of being considered a “youth” much less be concerned as to what I get to be next year…

via Facebook | Cyndi Whitmore: Random File: 18-35.

via Random File: 18-35.

  1. August 23, 2009 at 9:06 PM

    The first time I truely felt old was when I was listening to a commerical on the radio about being an egg donor. “If you are a healthy woman between the ages of ?? and 35…” Great, now I am too old to donate mt eggs. I had never been too old to do something before.

    • August 23, 2009 at 9:14 PM

      Gee, Laura… way to pick a girl up. See, I only had two things on the list of things I couldn’t do after December 2009: attend the Inaugural Youth Ball & join the young adult group at much church. Now I have to add donate my eggs to the list.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

