Home > Beautifully Blended > Mamalicious! Hair…Raising

Mamalicious! Hair…Raising

Hair Today…by Deesha Philyaw via Mamalicious! » Blog Archive » Hair…Raising.

Today is Hair Day. I will wrangle two-year-old Peyton in order to remove the beads from her hair, unbraid it, wash it, rebraid it, and put the beads back on—all in the face of her protests, periodic snack and meal breaks, and the necessary Pull-up changes. I will pray for her to fall asleep, but she won’t until about the last 20 minutes or so. The whole process will take the better part of our day.

At my house, hair day has a long and troubled history. For years, despite countless beauty products, gadgets, and more patience than I ever knew I had, my older daughter Taylor #now 7# dreaded hair day. Hair Day meant hour upon hour of having me wash, blow dry, comb, part, braid—mess with—her hair, while she had to sit and hold her head just so. And it hurt. I can hear the uninitiated asking, Why go through all of this trouble? Well, I don’t have much choice in the matter. In a culture that rarely includes my daughters in its beauty standard, I must counter that narrow standard with affirmation. I want my girls to look neat and feel positively about themselves, including their hair. Just as basic care for long hair by definition requires more time than caring for short hair, black hair that is not chemically treated requires a lot of TLC. I hope that in time my girls understand that all of the time and attention we give to their hair is borne of necessity and not vanity.

As I get ready to mess with little girls’ hair, I thought I’d share this blog.  I won’t be doing whole heads this evening, since the veil braids I did last week are holding up nicely, and I’ll be “doodling” the back of the girls hair, far less stress on the scalp than braiding… but still the time that takes means my announcement that we’ll need to start on hair soon was met with groans and protest.

via Mamalicious! Hair…Raising.

  1. August 16, 2009 at 5:35 PM

    Okay, I went to the site and read about this “Doodling” that you speak of. Brilliant!
    When I asked you at the fair, I assumed that you purchased something to “doodle” the girls’ hair – – and then you said you used your fingers….I just couldn’t imagine how you did it. Now, I can see how it was done…LOVE it!! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    • August 16, 2009 at 5:45 PM

      Isn’t it awesome? It’s made life much easier around here, but it’s still hard to make time for both their hair… it shouldn’t be… but I’m a lazy mom these days. It’s just so hot… getting up enough oomph to have somebodies in my lap for a couple hours is a struggle.

  2. August 16, 2009 at 6:01 PM

    Now that my girls are all teenagers and do their own hair, I miss it. Yes, it was a lot of work for my husband and I. But I have fond memories of lining them up every morning and doing hair.

    • August 16, 2009 at 6:06 PM

      When the weather turns chilly (or at least doesn’t feel like I’m on the face of the sun) I’ll appreciate it a lot more…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

