Home > parenting > Outrage of the Week: Dear Abby! « FreeRangeKids

Outrage of the Week: Dear Abby! « FreeRangeKids

Outrage of the Week: Dear Abby! « FreeRangeKids

I have to admit… when my oldest (now thirteen) wanted to use the men’s room solo at age four, at the airport of all places, I made him sing the ABC song so I would know he was OK. I was a single parent at he time, so it was the first time he’d gone into a public restroom alone (assuming his father accompanied him into men’s rooms during their time together). I also have to admit that I was probably as worried about him playing in the sink as I was about a pedophile. 

I’m proud to say that I eventually chillaxed and I don’t think he was singing in public restrooms past the age of five. At the same time, I still don’t let my youngest (six and a half) go to the restroom unaccompanied in a lot of public places. Living in a large city, when we’re out shopping, we’re usually at a large store. I send a sibling along with her to make sure she gets there and back without getting lost in the aisles more than anything else… but being an “After School Special” kid myself, the possibility of her being abducted is present in my mind.  This is part of the reason my tween carries a lo-jack equipped cell phone when he walks to the bus stop.

I live in a big city, and while I don’t watch a lot of news on TV, I follow my community news pretty closely… A couple years ago two men in a truck pulled alongside a girl walking to school and the passenger tried to pull her into the vehicle… two blocks from my house.  A year and a half ago, a girl was snatched in front of several witnesses when leaving a friend’s home.

“She happened to be standing outside in front of the home … they grabbed her in broad daylight … threw her in the vehicle and took off,” said Roberts.

“Here is the perfect example of a young girl who has nothing to do with this, her family has nothing to do with this, she just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.”

Two weeks ago, on the day he was released from prison, Salvador Medina kidnapped three sisters, ages 11 to 15, from the parking lot of a shopping center a few miles from my home. He sexually assaulted both 15yo girls before releasing the three girls.  In another parking lot 15 minutes later, he approached two women with a three year old.

“He asked them for money and put a knife to the abdomen of one of the women when she refused,” said Thompson.  “Seeing the child, Medina pulled the child from the car and threatened to take the child if he wasn’t given money and the car.”

While I agree with a LOT of what is posted on the FRK website, I can’t dismiss what I know has happened so close to home. Am I buying into media induced paranoia? Maybe… but maybe not. I live where I live and there are a lot of reasons behind that, which I don’t expect most people to understand… so I have to temper my desire to give my kids the rural free range lifestyle I grew up in with the reality of the inner city we live in today.

via Outrage of the Week: Dear Abby! « FreeRangeKids.

  1. August 16, 2009 at 12:33 PM

    This was an interesting read.
    We all tend to be swayed by the paranoia that is induced my any number of outlets…particularly the media…in almost all topics…particularly when it involves our children (and their protection).
    While it is true that there is reason to be paranoid with public places…it is doubly true that parents should be paranoid about private places….because almost all of the “bad” things that happen to kids (actually all people) is perpetrated by people they know…and most of the time, people that are suppose to “love and care” for them.
    My advice: Do whatever makes you feel safer in public….and take those precautions and triple them about your children in private.

    And Cyndi, I know that I am one of those people that has questioned where you live…and I do so because you share a great deal of the “bad” things that happen in your neighborhood…and I do care about your safety and happiness. I also read another post you had (was it the About Me section??) where you discussed some of the reasons why you live in South Phoenix and I want you to know that I do understand and respect your reasoning behind it. I bet people would question you less if they heard more of the good reasons why you live where you do….although, really, it isn’t any of our business where you live or why. 🙂

  2. August 16, 2009 at 5:36 PM

    Ah, that is where I must have read about it.
    I have read so much that I am not sure where I get it all from…LOL!! 🙂

    • August 16, 2009 at 5:39 PM

      LOL yeah, all the info gets mixed up, up there doesn’t it?!?!?! I have the same problem 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

