Home > reflections on race > When Will White People Quit Waffling?

When Will White People Quit Waffling?

What so many fail to realize is that white privilege hurts white folks too.

 

 The desire to blame a small group of white folks for their racism, only perpetuates white power. The false sense of perfectionism within white culture that has me trying to find the perfect words to inspire my white friends, roommates and family to open our eyes and our mouths; to begin dialoguing through the smog, through the hurt and collective loss of humanity.

 

 

via When Will White People Quit Waffling? « Everyday Whiteness.

 

via When Will White People Quit Waffling? .

  1. October 7, 2009 at 9:48 AM

    Interesting read.

  2. Henry
    October 9, 2009 at 9:24 AM

    Interesting! so what your saying is that it would be easier for poc’s if all white people would just admit that they are cradle to grave racists. That all white people need to confess to racial sins they have committed and those they may commit in the future?
    Of course there are historical precedents for such logic. From the Middle Ages to the nazi concentration camps all Jews were deemed guilty of sins of ommission and commission. People such as Tim Wise and others are in good company indeed!

  3. Henry
    October 12, 2009 at 10:20 AM

    And they are my words indeed. But isn’t it the premise of many people in the anti racism/white privilege movement (note: articles in the blog Anti-Racist parent); that once white people admit to being white (privileged) that somehow racism will come to an end?

    Focusing on white privilege is the true straw man. Though to me, it’s like a huge balloon filled with water. When you squeeze it hard enough all the water (privileges) go to one side and visa, versa. Squeeze it hard enough and the whole thing breaks-and some people will get wetter than others.

    Where is this perfectionism in white culture you speak of? If there is such a thing it’s hardly a “white” thing. People of other cultures/ethnic/religious groups seek the same and many will react with violence to defend it.

    Dialogues to resist racism are fine; but looking at some arbitrary white privilege list and then telling a white person: “you did this, you have this, I can’t go here/there” will do little to make any changes in our society since most white are either not aware of these privileges or don’t have any control over them.

    In every society I know of there are always those who have more privileges than others. Not all those privileges are either unfair or even illegal. Many of them are religiously based note: Pakistan, the Muslim world and Africa. Others more patriarchal based: the Western World. But enough of this! If people want to change this society to a less racist one I sugges they review the PBS special: Meeting David Wilson. I think that the white privilege movement hasn’t supported something of this nature because their focus is primarily on group guilt rather than individual responsibility.

  4. October 15, 2009 at 9:02 PM

    I agree with what Henry is saying.
    It occured to me, when I was pondering the whole idea of “white privledge,” that privledge actually occurs in whatever majority group is currently in play at that time/place/etc…..and that it changes when the majority changes. For example: There is “white privledge” in Sun City West, AZ….”christian privledge” in the bible belt….”muslim privledge” in the middle east….”black privledge” in East St. Louis, MO….”hispanic privledge” in Huron, CA….”republican privledge” in Utah….”democrat privledge” in Washington, D.C….etc. etc.

    • October 15, 2009 at 9:22 PM

      Henry, I haven’t had a chance to check into that special, so I’ll respond to your comments after I have.

      Heidi. sometimes you completely dumbfound me. You really do. Are black people in East St. Louis & the Hispanic people awarded better housing and education and arrested & convicted less frequently than their white peers for the same crime?

      There’s a big difference between being in the majority in a small region of the US and having more priviledge.

  5. October 16, 2009 at 12:18 AM

    Well, since my point was so obviously missed…let me just say….Ditto Henry.

    And just like I said in the last post that I replied to……I am not opposed to learning new things….and trying to understand other people’s perspectives. I would love to discuss this….but, it feels like there is no room for discussion here.

    • October 16, 2009 at 2:40 AM

      Heidi, I can’t show you anything you don’t want to see. I wish we could have a discussion about this, but any time I make an attempt, I get the very strong impression that you don’t want to learn, you want to debate. In all the years you’ve followed my blogs, you have derailed every conversation about race and white prviledge with very standard white denial responses. In your last comment, you basically accused me of playing the race card (although the duck goose analogy was a great smokescreen)… I’ll see your race card and raise you a bingo card.

  6. October 16, 2009 at 12:22 PM

    My apologies.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

