Home > Beautifully Blended > six days with daddy = eleven hours of damage control

six days with daddy = eleven hours of damage control

So today could probably be considered a “co-parenting fail”

I went to the airport to pick up the girls and their dad. I saw my baby girl’s head and just LOST IT. Halle’s hair was cornrowed neatly, and Daija looked like Orphan Annie on a bad day. From what I can gather, by the time anybody bothered with her hair, it was so matted & tangled she cried when they tried to comb it… which means they tried to comb it dry.

Oh, I was so mad. I lit into What’s His Name with a vengeance… and pointed out that Daija had spent a week with my stepmom and a week with my sister over the summer & didn’t come home looking like this… AND THEY’RE WHITE PEOPLE… as in DAY-GLO ANGLO. People don’t come much whiter.

I washed, conditioned it twice, then left conditioner on in a cap for 2+ hours, then conditioned it again… and still had to cut a couple matts out of her hair. I’ve never had to do that with either of the girls before… I think I cried more than Daija did while I was combing this mess out.

IMG00081-20091018-1022IMG00084-20091018-1022

IMG00086-20091018-1023IMG00087-20091018-1023

  1. October 18, 2009 at 2:46 PM

    LOL! I am laughing because I don’t have to fix it. Lawd!

    • October 19, 2009 at 7:17 PM

      Laura, I’m pretty sure I cried more than she did… cuz she didn’t start crying till I got to the really matted spots, and I saved those for last. I was sniffling long before that because I was pretty sure I was gonna have to cut some out. I only had to cut out two, so it wasn’t as bad as I thought, but still… I’ve never had to do that before.

  2. October 20, 2009 at 12:53 AM

    Once when you posted a picture of your children on Facebook, I wondered who did the girls’ hair. Of course, I did not ask because I did not want to be rude. Or maybe I am being rude now and should have just kept my mouth shut.

    But my uncle was married to a white lady, my aunt, and she could not do a thing with my cousins’ hair. So once a week or so she would bring her daughters to our house and do a little housework for my mom or just sit and keep my mom company, while my mom did her daughters’ hair.

    And not to defend their father, but I remember the days when I was pressed into hair styling duty because my wife was out of town on business. Oh, I have some horror stories. I still think my daughter is perhaps scarred for life from some of the horrendous hairstyles I sent her to school with. Someday she will perhaps need therapy.

    • October 20, 2009 at 1:33 AM

      There’s afunny thing about blogs… if you post your business out there, you gotta figure people are gonna either ask you about it or tell you what they think about it 😉

      I can’t really cornrow (I empathize with your aunt), but I am very blessed that my best friend’s daughter does and gives me the family discount (FrEe!!!). I do all the beadwork myself, though; especially now that the girls’s hair is longer the beading takes as long as the braiding does. When the girls hair is doodled, twisted, or in box, piggy back, or veil braids, that’s me.

  3. christie
    October 24, 2009 at 8:29 AM

    yeah, i have been here. i swear i have the patience of a saint for what i’ve been through with hair, and not even my biological child. the brown bottle of conditioner, what it’s called, i can’t remember, but i got it from the list on a webpage i know you’ve seen…that, a spray bottle of water, and a TON of patience and time will work. but i have on occasion cut out a snarl or two. i HATE doing that. it’s a shame when even the child’s bio parent can’t take care of her hair.

  4. christie from pa
    October 15, 2010 at 5:31 AM

    Oh been there. I had one big matted mess. It takes the patience of a saint. I cant tell u how many hours it took but I refused to get the scissors. I did it over the course of two days. I am so sorry. There are no words for him.

  1. October 14, 2010 at 11:11 PM

Leave a Reply

