Home > don't make mommy pee herself..., raising girls > Live from the Kitchen

Live from the Kitchen

2008-11-28 Glendale Glitters 019So I got home from work Wednesday night and my children were sitting at the kitchen table waiting for me with love notes and the news of their day. I went to my room (which is off the kitchen) to change, and listened to their chatter and gossip. Then I heard Daija (the informant) tell Tyler that Halle wasnted to ask so and so out…

NO I DON’T!

In that obnoxious, snotty, you are SOOO STOOOOPID voice that apparently comes with pre-puberty. I sighed heavily, and waited for the “why do you have to be so RUUUUUUDE?” wail from Daija, followed by the “Why are you talking about my business” roar. I’m not sure why it didn’t come, but as I reached the kitchen to break up the fight I was sure was about to happen, Halle said,

I want HIM to ask ME out. 

I briefly considered using it as a launch point for a discussion about feminism and empowerment, and then decided… NOT.

So now that Halle has set her sights on one of Tyler’s (junior high) friends, I wonder what I was thinking all those years that I said I wanted a boy first, then a girl or two.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… be careful what you ask for. God has a sense of humor.

  1. October 23, 2009 at 4:30 AM

    Thanks great, Cyn ! =)

    • October 23, 2009 at 6:10 AM

      Hey… at least you know what’s coming.

  2. October 23, 2009 at 7:12 AM

    Welcome to my world!
    Condolences on the tween adventure you are about to embark on. Teenage girls are fun.

  3. October 23, 2009 at 7:12 AM

    Oh…and…the page looks great!!

  4. October 23, 2009 at 8:00 AM

    Bwah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha *snort* ha ha ha ha ha ha *take a breath break* ha ha ha ha ha!! That was wonderful!! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  5. christie
    October 24, 2009 at 8:24 AM

    LOL!!!! hahahaha.
    ya.
    i wanted girls first. I got me. and everything i did to my mom and my younger brothers and sisters is coming right back at me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

