Home > Faith and Spirituality > Star Wars Theology (aka God is an Orange)

Star Wars Theology (aka God is an Orange)

So I am NOT procrastinating the completion of Walking the (color)Line. I was asked at the IFO network (by someone who doesn’t know me but will probably figure out real quickly that I have NO short stories AND that I am the queen of the run on sentence) what Unitarian Universalism is and I think the Spirit of Life (or God or the Force, choose whatever terminology you’re comfortable with) wants me to answer RIGHT NOW. Because Rev Susan’s sermon today was titled THE MIRACLE IN THE MUNDANE: THE SUPER IN THE NATURAL.

Yeah. It’s complicated.

According to our Visitor’s page,

Unitarian Universalism is a theologically diverse religion, in which members support one another in the search for truth and meaning. As members of a non-creedal religious tradition, Unitarian Universalists are free to discern their beliefs about theological and ethical issues. Individual Unitarian Universalists may also identify as Atheist, Agnostic, Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Humanist, Jewish, Muslim, Pagan, or with other philosophical or religious traditions. 

The Unitarian Universalist Association’s (UUA’s) seven principles express the shared values that UUA congregations affirm and promote.

But that’s the official answer. It can mean something different to each individual.

Now, I’ve been meaning to come up with an elevator speech for a long time… But Liz Gilbert pretty much summed up what I refer to as my “cafeteria style” approach to religion and I haven’t been able to come up with anything better.

In the end, what I have come to believe about God is simple. It’s like this– I used to have this really great dog. She came from the pound. She was a mixture of about ten different breeds, but seemed to have inherited the finest features of them all. She was brown. When people asked me,What kind of dog is that?” I would always give the same answer: “she’s a brown dog.” Similarly, when the question is raised, “What kind of God do you believe in?” my answer is easy: “I believe in a magnificent God.”

 

    
Elizabeth Gilbert: Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, Page: 14

 So I don’t have an elevator speech of my own, but I do have a good one-liner. God is an Orange. And believe it or not, I’m not the only one who thinks so.

If you can stand any more videos. check out these episodes of the Colbert Report. They’re hysterical. Well, maybe you won’t think so, but I do.

 Stephen Colbert: But we’re not just celebrating the one true religion tonight, we’re celebrating all religions. As I’m sure there are other religions here at the Report. For instance uhh.. bobby what’s your religion?

Bobby: I’m a Unitarian*

Stephen: Oh, so you’re a Christian too?

Bobby: well, yes, i mean.. no.. i mean I incorporate Christian values as well as aspects of many other religious traditions in my belief in God. And I don’t mean to imply that I necessarily think God exists.. or doesn’t exist.. or that it even matters to him, or it, or whatever – what I do or do not believe. What’s important is that it’s my choice, and that’s what holds the Unitarians together.

Stephen: [long pause] … so do you celebrate Christmas or Hanukkah?

Bobby: Sure.

 

The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
The De-Deification of the American Faithscape
www.colbertnation.com
 
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor Michael Moore
The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
The Word – Irreconcilable Differences
www.colbertnation.com
 
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor Michael Moore
The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Steven Johnson
www.colbertnation.com
 
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor Michael Moore
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

