Home > Does anybody look like me? > “Big Fat Head”

“Big Fat Head”

"Big Fat Head"

Dr 2nd Grade,

Could you please speak with the boy who sits behind Daija about this? Its such a struggle for my girls to maintain a healthy self esteem and racial identity. This isn’t the first time Daija has complained that someone in class made her feel bad about her hair, But its the first time she’s begged me to straighten it…

“Even if it burns me, I promise not to cry.”

I’m pretty upset by this, and so is she.

  1. Eiball
    November 24, 2009 at 7:20 AM

    Awww…poor Daija Boo.

  2. November 24, 2009 at 10:37 AM

    That is very upsetting. I’m so sorry that happened.

  3. November 24, 2009 at 2:04 PM

    *sigh* I got a read receipt for my email, but I haven’t heard back from her teacher. Today is the Turkey Trot at school, and the last day this week so I’m sure it’s a madhouse.

    It’s frustrating how much she loves her hair until she leaves the hood…

  1. November 23, 2009 at 7:17 PM

Leave a Reply

