Home > House & Home, MENU PLAN MONDAY > Menu Plan Monday: Cyndi has a new crack-pot

Menu Plan Monday: Cyndi has a new crack-pot

Crock-Pot® Smart-Pot® Slow Cooker

OK, so I’ve amused people to no end by my habit of referring to my blackberry as my crackberry… so I couldn’t resist the title for a blog about my new toy. I invested in a new crock pot today… I have one, but it has a couple limitations, the biggest being that I’m away from the house for 9-10 hours during the week, and it’s a manual crock pot and always cooks most things in 6-8. Secondly, it’s 4 quarts, and there are a couple great looking recipes that feed 7-8 people (which means I could stretch it to two meals for the curly crew or leftovers for my lunch).  So my new purchase is 6 qts, with a locking lid and a timer with auto off feature… I can start the crock pot with the timer on the low end of the recommended cooking time, then it will switch to warm. If it isn’t quite done when I get home, I can just pop that sucker on high while the kids & I make salads, set the table, etc.

Make it Fast, Cook it Slow: The Big Book of Everyday Slow Cooking

Earlier this week, Amazon.com delivered my new cookbook. I looked through it Friday night and was happy to see that my faith in Becky Boop was not misplaced… I have never seen a cookbook that had so many recipes that I was excited to make. Even better, many of them required little or no chopping or preparing. Saturday morning I had a little chit chat with the spawn about how much fast food we won’t be eating anymore. I figured I’d get their buy-in a great deal faster if they had some ownership. I had each of the kids pick out a dinner recipe from the new book of spells. Last night we had Halle’s pick, Sweet & Spicy Salmon, which was good, but a little chewy. I think I cooked it a little too long… that recipe is definitely one that leans towards the lower end of the cooking time range. Daija chose Sweet & Spicy Chicken Wings, which we’ll be having for dinner tonight, and Tyler chose Chicken Pot Pie for Wednesday. I have the fixings for Crockpot Cowboy Stew and Chicken Tacos to fill in the rest of the week that we’re not eating some version of Turkey.

I may never use another pot or pan. I’ll be honest, when I was standing and looking at the frozen turkeys, I wondered if they make crock pots big enough to cook a turkey in.

  1. November 23, 2009 at 7:37 AM

    HA! I wondered the same thing about the turkeys.

    I haven’t been brave enough to do fish in the crock pot, but I am guessing the lowest setting for a short time is the answer.

    I have several recipes planned for this week, including chicken cordon bleu. YUM!

    • November 23, 2009 at 4:08 PM

      yeah, that was my plan… then I switched it to warm because I wasn’t quite done with hair. The hair took a lot longer to finish than I anticipated, cuz I was also watching the Great Debaters. With the children. Who ask a lot of questions. Result: hungry cranky spawn, and chewy salmon 😉 But they still ate it, and Daija had two servings!

  2. November 23, 2009 at 4:03 PM

    Hi Cyndi,

    I’m so glad that you are enjoying the book and your new crockpot! I had so much time with this project, and I’m so happy to help you and your family in any way I can.

    I did 2 turkey breasts today, for the kindergarten feast. I did do a 9.5 lb turkey last year in a 6.5 quart, and it worked out well, but the turkey breasts were juicier, probably because more of the meat sat in the juices.

    xoxo steph

    • November 23, 2009 at 4:09 PM

      oh god you may have spurred me from crazed fan to stalker Steph! I LOOOOOOOOVE YOU. I actually have done just a turkey breast the last couple years just because a full turkey is too big for the kids & I. I was going to dig for a really small turkey, but that’s even more incentive to go for the turkey breast so I can use my crack-pot 😉

  3. Candi
    November 23, 2009 at 8:14 PM

    I know that you don’t have a lot of time, so I wanted to make sure that you knew about the crock pot liners. No washing the pot.

    • November 23, 2009 at 8:17 PM

      God, I love you too. Where would I buy such a magical thing?

      • November 24, 2009 at 2:20 PM

        I have actually blogged about these before, back in the days on myspace. You can find them with all the other Reynolds wrap kind of stuff at the grocery store. Usually. BEST THING EVAH! Besides the crock pot itself.

  4. November 23, 2009 at 9:11 PM

    Cyndi – – crock pot liners are in the ziplock section at wal-mart…prolly in the same section in any other store (not for sure though). I will NOT cook in the crockpot without the liners. It is brilliant. 🙂
    Have fun!! 🙂

    • November 23, 2009 at 9:12 PM

      I’ll have you know that I was just in the ziplock section at Wal-Mart yesterday and I saw no such magical item.

  5. November 24, 2009 at 6:50 PM

    *sigh*

    If only the man child hadn’t broken the lie on my brand new crock pot this morning…

    • November 25, 2009 at 8:15 AM

      Wait, what’s broken???

  1. January 25, 2010 at 12:07 AM

Leave a Reply

