Home > Ground Zero > Tea Parties, Coffee Parties… let’s all just have CAKE

Tea Parties, Coffee Parties… let’s all just have CAKE

In discussions about immigration and SB1070, people from both sides of the issue are prone to making sweeping statements and accusations about the other.  I had a really awesome talk with a “small government” friend this week, and we shared experiences of trying to engage people on the other side of the debate in dialogue about the ISSUE and finding ourselves on the receiving end of personal insults, both disappointed that people don’t want conversation; they are just looking for confrontation.

*heavy sigh* We can all do better than this.

I come from a military family… my mother, father, stepfather, grandfather and great grandfather all served in the military, so I grew up “everywhere.” I’ve lived in at least eight states… both coasts, the south and the midwest. I’ve lived overseas twice, and had the opportunity to visit several other countries as a result. I know, as one of my favorite hymns goes, that other hearts are beating in other lands, all just as beautiful as mine.

This is my song, oh God of all the nations
a song of peace for lands afar and mine.
This is my home, the country where my heart is;
here are my hopes, my dreams, my holy shrine;
but other hearts in other lands are beating
with hopes and dreams as true and high as mine
a song of peace for their land and for mine.
My country’s skies are bluer than the ocean,
and sunlight beams on clover leaf and pine.
But other lands have sunlight too and clover,
and skies are everywhere as blue as mine.
This is my song, oh God of all the nations;

After being accused of being Anti American for supporting immigrant families (in a nation of immigrants no less), usually comes the accusation that I think we should just let anybody come through our borders anytime they want, and then the proclamation that people need to come here legally, and learn English like everybody else. There are, of course, the usual comments about “those people” not paying taxes, stealing American jobs, etc, and an occasional suggestion that I apply for citizenship in Mexico.

While I am under no illusions about it’s imperfections, I still love this country and I believe in it’s promise and it’s potential. I believe in what’s printed on the Statue of Liberty, and find it ironic that results somehow into MY patriotism being called into question.

The New Colossus
Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.
“Keep, ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Emma Lazarus, 1883

via The New Colossus – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

So I’m going to get into the nitty gritty of where I’m coming from, and what I do and don’t believe. I know that I’ll mostly be preaching to the choir in terms of who my regular readers are, but if someone with some genuine questions is looking, maybe they’ll find a new perspective here.l This will be another “series” of posts, even though I still haven’t finished the series about the protests yet. I’ve avoided writing in great detail about why I’m adamently opposed to SB1070 for some time because of all the sources I’d have to link back to… OMG the thought of it is exhausing. I’m just going to write the blogs as they come, and work on linking back to sources later or else they’ll never get written… you can either take my word for it, do your own homework, or subscribe to the comments for an update that I’ve added trackbacks & be patient… take your pick.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

