Home > Meditation Sunday, Princess, Wild Child > Gratitude Sunday

Gratitude Sunday

Well, seeing as Becky has dusted off the gratitude button, I think I will too 🙂 I realized it’s been way too long since I counted my blessings, and as challenging as the last few years have been, there is still much I am thankful for.

  1. High School – Tyler didn’t seem to handle moving between classes well, and I worried that struggle would continue or perhaps get worse in high school. I worried that if he’d been teased for his size in middle school, high school would be worse. But we are four weeks into the school year so far, and he absolutely loves it. All his teachers spoke well of him, with the highest praise coming from his Language Arts teacher… an area where he’s tended to struggle. He isn’t missing too many assignments.  He says he gets a lot of questions, and that once or twice the first week he’d seen some kids laughing at a distance, but not in a mean or unkind way… it’s the way you laugh when you’re shocked or surprised.I mentioned that he’s been attending meetings for the Civil Air Patrol cadet program, which he loves. He’s also being recruited for the high school wrestling team. I’m still trying to get a handle on what level of time commitment the CAP program will be, but if Tyler can keep up his grades and the schedules work out, he’ll be on the Freshman/JV team this year.
  2. Middle School – while middle school was not always a joy for Tyler, Halle is loving it and I’m hoping that continues. She’ll be eleven tomorrow and is blossoming before my eyes. This morning Daija and I are sneaking out to go do some birthday shopping for her.
  3. Grooves & Bigs: My Daija had a rough first couple of weeks at school, is getting into hers, which makes life so much easier for mama! She’s also, after years of waiting to be old enough, been matched with a mentor through Big Brothers/Big Sisters… with an artsy craftsy big, no less!
  4. Villages – I’m so blessed to have good friends who check in on me and make themselves available at the drop of a hat. We’re crisis prone, and don’t know what we’d do without y’all.
  1. August 30, 2010 at 5:03 PM

    Hi,
    I found your blog and wanted to let you know about mine: http://themixedcommunity.wordpress.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

