Home > Faith and Spirituality > שנה טובה (shana tova)

שנה טובה (shana tova)

 

So not quite a year ago, I got a lot of answers to a lot of questions I’d had when I met my (biological) father, who I have since affectionately dubbed “Biker Dad.” One of those questions had been… what am I? I know that on my mother’s side, my nana was second generation English, and my mother’s father was half Native American (I don’t recall the tribe, and the source of this particular tidbit of  information is questionable in any case)… my grandpa (my mom’s stepfather) was second generation Italian.  So last winter I learned that my (biological) paternal grandmother was second generation Russian, and Jewish.

I’m not sure what this means to me, exactly. I’ve felt drawn to some aspects of Judaism that I can’t really explain, even though I knew it was not my faith. I usually update my facebook status with greetings to my Jewish and Muslim friends on their holy days, but this year Rosh Hashanah greetings feel a little more personal. While it won’t be a religious observance for me, it will certainly be a time of reflection.

On that note, I was tickled by this video shared by a friend…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

