Home > Food for Thought, Random File > Just Like Me?

Just Like Me?

So there are some things I don’t understand. A lot of things, actually. And I won’t deny that things I hear people on the conservative side of the political spectrum say to reporters are often high on the list. I’ve heard this one for ten years now. I heard it said of George W. Bush. I heard it said of Sarah Palin, and the other night I heard it said of Christine O’Donnell, the Tea Party Candidate who won the Delaware Primary.

UNIDENTIFIED FEMALE: It makes me feel, once again, just like she’s just like me and just like a lot of the other Delawareans that have had problems paying their mortgage, have, you know, taken years to pay off their school loans. I just feel like she’s one of us.

I just gotta say… I don’t get that. I can’t even wrap my head around it. When I hear something like this I start to wonder if we are seriously a culture of mediocrity.

Frankly, I’d rather have someone smarter, or more experienced, or more organized, or any combination, making decisions about the laws that are going to be affecting us. If I can barely handle my own business, I got no business trying to handle yours.

And if I want to feel a kinship with people who are “just like me” I’ll go find a support group to bond with.

O’Donnell and the Truth; Paladino on the Record; Home Invasion Horror

  1. Ei
    September 28, 2010 at 6:25 AM

    Exactly. Who the hell wants me running the country? Sure you need good Sunday School teacher for the country, I’m your girl. But come on!

  2. Becky
    September 28, 2010 at 9:43 AM

    I have to be honest here and say that while much of what conservatives say baffles me, this isn’t one of those things. I am not puzzled by someone wanting a person in office who understands what common, everyday Americans struggle with. In a nation where you can’t even run for office without having significant wealth…that’s really something to consider. Too damn many of our politicians were born silver spoons in their mouths and are truly out of touch with America as a whole.

    In the military, the BEST officers were the ones who spent the beginning of their careers as enlisted men and women. Their understanding of military life for the soldiers below them – the run-of-the-mill privates and sergeants – was wiser and more compassionate. The other officers were elitists and totally out of touch. I think most people feel that way about their elected officials.

    There are lots of smart, capable, Americans who would do a fantastic job holding political offices. Christine O’Donnell is not one of them, but I can appreciate the sentiment of others who *do* want someone who really gets it, and is “just like” them.

    • September 28, 2010 at 6:42 PM

      Becky, I *totally* agree that the most effective leaders are the ones who had to work their way up and earn their success, and I definitely prefer to have elected officials who have been where I am and understand what struggles myself or others who aren’t in positions of privilege face. But I want that person, who started off where I did, to have learned something along the way and at some point, to have gained some wisdom and skills that I haven’t… I want someone who WAS just like me, and who is now BETTER (or at least, more capable) than me. And if I ever saw someone in front of a camera say this about anybody with a clue, conservative or not, it would make sense to me… but the only three people that I recall it being said of were Bush & Palin (by people who were responding to questions about some of the less than stellar comments made by them as candidates) and O’Donnell in response to her alleged finance scandal.

      Granted, I don’t see much TV so it may be a much more commonly expressed sentiment than I realize.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

