YA YA!

So I spent last Thursday at home at home with Halle, who was suffering an upset stomach. Once that seemed to have settled down, she was knocked out for a couple hours and woke up feeling better… and bored. And whiney. None of our movies interested her, so I pulled out Pride and Prejudice & Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood that arrived earlier in the week from Netflix.

It kept her still for the rest of the afternoon, and sparked a number of conversations about racism and sexism. I was struck very early how the world she is growing up in is so very different than mine when, not five minutes into the movie, she observed,

Can’t you get AIDS that way?

While I felt a tinge of regret that she should even have to think of such a thing, I was glad that she not only knows this information, but that she would apply it to this situation. While that concern never occurred to me (I mean, it’s just a group of little girls having a blood ritual), it’s clear in her mind that ANYBODY can have HIV or AIDS, and she knows how it is and isn’t, communicated.

Props to age appropriate, comprehensive sex education at our public school!

via YouTube – Divine Secrets of the Ya – Ya Sisterhood (Part 1).

  1. Ei
    October 12, 2010 at 5:43 AM

    Another “Hooray!” for OWL, in our hard to keep pace with world…

    I love the Ya Ya movie, have you seen the Traveling Pants movies? My sister sent them to me last (? maybe the year before?) Christmas. I was surprised at how much I liked them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

