Home > Faith and Spirituality, Ground Zero > Call to Action: Volunteers Needed for Community Posada Presented by PUENTE ARIZONA & Soundstrike

Call to Action: Volunteers Needed for Community Posada Presented by PUENTE ARIZONA & Soundstrike

Driving home from the screening of 9500 Liberty last July, I was trying to figure out how I was going to coordinate emergency care for three kids and three dogs, much less what I was going to say to my employer or how I was going to explain to my children, particularly my son who had just gotten home from a summer visit with dad earlier in the week, that mommy was gonna be going to jail on purpose. I thought perhaps I could just stay at the perimeter. I could be in solidarity without participating in civil disobedience. I could even just go to the interfaith service and march and not attend the protest altogether.

And then I thought about my neighbors. Not the ones south of the border, not even the ones across town. My neighbors across the street. Around the corner. At the grocery and the school bus stop. On the volleyball team my daughter plays on. At our barber shop. My favorite taco shop. It might be scary and unsettling for my children, but our potential separation would be brief… almost certainly less than 24 hours. It would be “scheduled” with people they know & trust on standby, prepared to help. For my neighbors, documented or not, whether or not they might find themselves in the Maricopa County Jail was a daily concern. For some of my neighbors, a visit to the Maricopa County Jail meant their families would face long term or permanent separation.

I knew I wouldn’t be able to look myself, or any of them, in the eye if I wasn’t willing to put my body on the line. It didn’t exactly work out like I planned… after three protests and once declining to provide a driver’s license to the officer that pulled me over, I still haven’t managed to get in to see Joe Arpaio. But that’s a whole ‘nother story. Back to the point… I hope my people (you know who you are) will volunteer at this event or during the week prior. If you can’t volunteer and still want to help, you can make a donation with The Sound Strike or text ‘Arizona’ to 50555 to give $5


December 5, 2010

Hello Friends,

I would like to thank you all for taking the time to read this letter. Many of you have helped PUENTE ARIZONA in the past, while others are new individuals who would like to get involved in the community. Due to the anti immigrant legislation (SB1070), several families this year will not be able to celebrate Christmas with their families. There will be several children this year spending Christmas away from their parents do to the separation of families. Other families will not have enough funds to be able to have a Christmas meal. The Sound Strike, PUENTE ARIZONA & (CDB) present the first annual Community Posada!

Join us on Saturday, December 18th 2010 for a community posada and Christmas celebrations for the Phoenix community. This year we are uniting as a community and helping the families celebrate Christmas with food and gifts.

This year our goal is to feed over 3,000 families! We are inviting everyone to join us at the posada as we feed the families in need and have a community Christmas celebration.

On Saturday we will have food, art activities for the children, music, activities, and several give a ways. WE NEED YOUR HELP! This event cannot happen without the help of several men; women and children who can volunteer and help us make this event possible. We are in need of 100 volunteers for Saturday’s event. We also need help during the week with the packaging of toys and food bags. If you would like to help volunteer please reply to this email or email Sandra@puenteaz.org.

We will be having a volunteer orientation on Thursday December 9th 2010 at 6:30pm at 802 N 7st Phoenix Arizona 85006. Please let us know if you can attend the orientation. For more information visit our website http://www.puenteaz.org or call 602-314-5870.

Best regards,
Sandra Castro
PUENTE ARIZONA
Event Coordinator/Community Organizer
323-493-2844

Leave a Reply

