Home > Ground Zero > Arizona Goddamn

Arizona Goddamn

photo courtesy of Sun Principe

By now most of you have heard about the shooting in Tucson that appeared to have targeted Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords. If you’re not familiar with the news, a young man by the name of Jared Loughner was arrested on the scene after he shot Rep. Giffords in the head at point blank range before opening fire on the crowd, sending Giffords and eleven others to the hospital and six, among them a federal judge and a nine year old girl.    

Can’t you see it
Can’t you feel it
It’s all in the air
I can’t stand the pressure much longer
Somebody say a prayer

Many of us have expressed concern about the tone of the political discourse here in Arizona and across the nation. The domestic terrorism that occurred in Tucson is our worst fears come to life. As we wait for details that we know will never help us understand WHY this young man committed this horrific act, we can only pray that our calls for a return to civil discourse will be heard.

This is a show tune
But the show hasn’t been written for it, yet
Hound dogs on my trail
School children sitting in jail

I’ve been listening to Nina Simone‘s Protest Anthology  album. One of the songs, Mississippi Goddamn, is in part about the four little girls who died in the 1963 bombing of the 16th St Baptist Church in Birmingham, AL.

Lord have mercy on this land of mine
We all gonna get it in due time
I don’t belong here
I don’t belong there
I’ve even stopped believing in prayer

As I ponder the latest headlines in the local news & trending topics in my facebook & twitter feeds, I wonder again what Ms. Nina Simone would say about Arizona…

The name of this tune is Mississippi Goddamn
And I mean every word of it
Alabama’s gotten me so upset
Tennessee made me lose my rest
And everybody knows about Mississippi Goddamn

  1. Melinda Calaman
    January 10, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    Wow…you have a way with words, Cyndi! Thanks for posting. 😀

  1. January 9, 2011 at 9:09 PM

Leave a Reply

