Home > curlykidz, Family Life > CURLYKIDZ SUMMER READING LIST 2011

CURLYKIDZ SUMMER READING LIST 2011

So it’s been quite a while since I’ve put an appearance around here. Volleyball took over my life a little more than usual this year, and while that was truly a moving and transformational and profound experience, I’m really looking forward to the end of the regular season this weekend. The rest of May is focused on fundraising for our trip to the National Starlings Volleyball Tournament in June and helping Tyler wrap up his requirements for his Coming of Age program, the Aerospace Awards Ceremony, and COA “promotion” and his semester finals. I should be around more then, but in the meantime I thought I’d share some of the books I’ve added to our reading list. While I did quit TV more than a year ago, we still tend to veg on movies & Netflix in our downtime. I’ve got what I think is a really awesome lineup of books I wish I’d read as a kid and books I wish had been published when I was a kid (there’s only one that I’ve read), which the kids and I will be reading together for whatever part of the summer whoever is home. I got all but the last two books, I think, used from Amazon for less than $5 each (and got super saver shipping on the entire order to boot). I’m thinking of blogging some book reviews & sharing our impressions and thoughts of the books. If you join us in reading any of these, I hope you’ll chime in as we go on.

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
Riding Freedom
Calico Captive
Amos Fortune, Free Man (Newbery Library, Puffin)
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
Esperanza Rising
Where the Broken Heart Still Beats: The Story of Cynthia Ann Parker
Becoming Naomi Leon
Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison
The Devil’s Arithmetic
The Witch of Blackbird Pond Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Company
The Dreamer (Ala Notable Children’s Books. Older Readers)
Freedom Summer
  1. Sooz
    May 3, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    I still have the copy of “The Witch of Blackbird Pond” that my beloved step-mom gave me when I was a kid. Much read and loved. Great list, Cyndi!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

