Home > raising girls > Are you f-ing kidding? Reebok EasyTone commercial

Are you f-ing kidding? Reebok EasyTone commercial

  1. November 7, 2009 at 9:36 PM

    My cousin’s wife saw this commercial after she had bought these shoes.
    Her butt is huge anyway so she returned the shoes that day.

    • November 7, 2009 at 9:50 PM

      I could not believe it… I just can’t see that being anything other than a huge marketing fail.

  2. November 9, 2009 at 1:13 PM

    I don’t know… big butts seem to be the in thing.

    • November 9, 2009 at 3:05 PM

      Being somewhat of a big booty girl myself, I’m always glad to hear that big butts are back “in” but this commercial is still totally offensive.

      “I take it you agree”

      Twit. I’d a knocked “dude” upside the head with his own camera.

  3. Becky
    November 10, 2009 at 5:50 AM

    The problem with the commercial is that it’s sexualizing fitness. Like everything else that’s marketed to women, it seems as if it has to have some kind of sex appeal. Because being healthy and fit is not enough, you *must* want a big butt to attract men, too, right?

    *rolls eyes out of head*

    • November 10, 2009 at 7:38 AM

      Well, the commercial just says it’ll make your butt look great… if those shoes are supposed to give you a big butt they need to think about getting a model who actually has a big butt.

  4. November 10, 2009 at 7:40 AM

    LOL I just had Tyler watch the commercial and he said it’s retarded, and asked if Reebok made it or someone else. I said Reebok made it, & he said, “That just makes it a lot worse.”

  5. Sandy
    November 17, 2009 at 7:48 PM

    I will not buy Reeboks simply because of the degrading commercial!

    • November 24, 2009 at 9:36 AM

      I feel the same way! it’s absolutely ridiculous.

  6. Emily
    November 18, 2009 at 3:42 PM

    Glad I’m not the only one who feels this way! I e-mailed them and they said most people liked the commercials, so I started a petition to prove them wrong. Feel free to sign!

    http://www.petitionspot.com/petitions/boycottreebokshoes

    • November 24, 2009 at 9:36 AM

      Emily, I meant to reply sooner but I’ve had some personal stuff going on at home. Thanks for posting this link!

  7. Moi
    November 20, 2009 at 10:17 PM

    Love the shoes, I went out an bought them right after I saw the commercial– and I prefer the black and white one! Great marketing. I’m rumored to be the university feminist, but I was too intrigued to be offended. The commercial is intended for a certain audience. That being said, it really shouldn’t be aired at certain times or on certain channels. But I was watching the Tyra show, so their timing was peeerfect.

    • November 24, 2009 at 9:42 AM

      Well, Moi… to each his own but based on the popularity of this post & the number of search engine hits for some version of the term “offensive reebok commercial” I’m not sure many other self proclaimed feminists or womanists would agree.

  8. Shelley
    November 23, 2009 at 5:51 PM

    Honestly. Just saw the easytone commercial. It is sick. Is there an organized input to Reebok? Yuck. Women have made ZERO progress in the media. Hello!!!?? An ad in which a woman’s pushed up boobs are talking about the womans but. yuck yuck loser commercial. Just decided I will not buy Reeboks AGAIN!

    • November 24, 2009 at 9:37 AM

      Shelley, I’m not sure what there is in terms of organized input, but I know a lot of my readers & guests have followed the link Emily posted above.

  9. liz, mom of 3
    November 30, 2009 at 5:49 AM

    Just saw the ad again, and worte an email to reebok. So offended. And ladies, Sketchers has a similar shoe, buy for them. We won’t be wearing any more Reeboks!

  10. November 30, 2009 at 12:20 PM

    I totally agree. My 11 yr old girl said “that is a sick commerical” wouldnt purchase Reeboks for just this reason.

  11. Bill
    April 19, 2010 at 11:32 AM

    Shut-up everybody. Quit being jealous and appreciate that with work, you can be hot too. You don’t have to take offense because you’re lazy and don’t want to work out!!

    Ladies, stop sitting and snacking all #$@#ing day and maybe you would look like that too. In Russia and Eastern Europe, exercise is part of the culture. They would love this commercial.

    That’s why the most beautiful women are from there.

    • April 19, 2010 at 9:17 PM

      Bill, I’m not sure why you assume because I didn’t adore this commercial that I’m a) not hot, b) lazy c) unwilling to work out d) sitting on my ass and/or snacking all day… but in any case, your comments were truly the highlight of my night. Thank you… I needed a good laugh today.

  12. Bill
    April 19, 2010 at 11:34 AM

    Degrading commercial….holy shit, your fat is offensive. Have you ever thought you might be offending people with your rolls and not this commercial.
    Holy fuck what is wrong with everybody.

  13. allana
    April 19, 2010 at 12:49 PM

    apparently none of you know what offensive means. it’s not a “sick” commercial at all. the purpose of it is to get america the **** off their ***** and start doing something. you see these bodies? any person who talks any smack about their shape is purely jealous. you can’t deny that. honestly, i’m glad if you’re happy with your body and have a bigger butt. but the majority of audiences complaining about this commercial will be completely overweight.

    don’t tweak out because your 11 year old saw a few girls in booty shorts on a commercial. welcome to the real world.

    i, therefore like this commercial and the song is great.

    • April 19, 2010 at 9:28 PM

      allana, I think the majority of the people who have posted here that dislike the commercial do so because even as young as 2nd & 3rd grade young girls are developing eating disorders, trying to dress like teenagers, and having a variety of other body image issues. It’s not about jealousy. It’s about wanting marketing aimed towards women to reinforce the value of being fit for MY/YOUR/OUR health and MY/YOUR/OUR benefit… not the benefit of whatever walking penis happens to cast his e on the junk in your trunk. In these commercials, what the woman is saying about health and fitness is deemed irrelevant. The only thing that matters is what her ass looks like.

  14. Randi
    April 20, 2010 at 8:58 PM

    I love this commercial, they did a good job showing what this product can get you ;). Whether your love it or are offended by it you remember it and talk about it (passing it on). This is the first page of opinons ive looked at, most of the comments being negative I still love the shoes and the commercial. I am sorry but laughed a lil bit at the comments, thinking it was offensive (just being honest). Tho Bill pissed me off! He is pretty rude, and sounds emotional towards the commercial.
    It isnt your body in the ad, and not everyone is ment to have it. Everyone is different including there bodies, if we were all the same how would we be unique.
    I feel if you are toning your body that getting your legs and ass to look like that would be one of your goals, therefore the commercial does an amazing good job promoting what its results can be!

    • Randi
      April 21, 2010 at 12:23 AM

      ps the one i saw was with the cool song, everyone being active

  15. Randi
    April 20, 2010 at 9:04 PM

    I am with Moi on this one!

  16. allana
    April 23, 2010 at 9:09 PM

    then i feel like you should teach your kids about eating disorders and body images as early as that; 3rd and 4th grade. you never know, just like randi said, everyone is different therefore everyone has their own individual outlook. a child may not develop that type of thought by seeing this commercial. and also, i’m not saying the child shouldn’t be watching tv, but don’t allow them to watch the station that these type of commercials advertise on. i’ve seen it on mtv, and vh1… i doubt you’ll find it on nick jr.

  17. Rose
    May 8, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    I just saw the Reebok easytone commercial. It pisses me off. It is always the same when selling to women. Half naked women,women butts, women legs, women breast. Maybe those shoes work but why advertise them in that way. I am not into seeing women’s butts on TV. I will never buy Reebok ,even if the shoes work. Hey they have Reebok easytone for men,too. Where are the male butts and legs????????? Women need to wake up and stop being so OK with being seen as sex Objects!!!!!

    • Rose
      May 8, 2010 at 7:44 PM

      Oh…… It has nothing to do with being jealous. Maybe it would not bother me so much,if men where objectified as much as women are.

  18. r.daniel
    June 15, 2010 at 10:20 PM

    I’m from India and I’ve already made an online complaint against the Disney Channel for airing a similar Reebok easytone ad continuously on every commercial break from as early as 8:30 am. I don’t think anything is going to come of it because I seem to be the only Indian mom complaining. However I’m signing emily’s petition and hope Reebok changed the direction of their ad campaign for the sake of little girls (I don’t think they care much about the issue of objectifying women). To parents: you need to be far more proactive about the stuff your child is exposed to, don’t just try to stop them from watching, kill the evil at its source. Sign petitions, write letters, make protests, don’t just embrace it all with sigh and say that’s the way it is, this ad just feeds the gigantic issue of low self esteem amongst school girls.

    Bill, go get yourself some Russian women then.

  19. brina
    September 25, 2010 at 11:18 AM

    Are you guys serious? I am a woman and I saw nothing wrong with the commercial. The model had a great body and the commercial implied how easy getting a great body would be by showing her doing everyday tasks without the strain of working out. I can’t see how anyone could possibly be offended by this at all. Who wouldn’t want to have a more toned butt, no matter what size you are. that’s all the commercial is promoting. Sheesh.

  20. brina
    September 25, 2010 at 11:22 AM

    And also, why is it always the overweight women who are soooo offended by a sexy ad on tv or a model posing in a bikini? its just kind of pathetic and probably due to self confidence issues.

    • Anonymous
      October 19, 2010 at 11:48 PM

      Why be offended? These women have great bums!!! Should I be offended of the old navy commercial of the guy with his six pack and pecks showing? no i am not. it motivates me to keep working at it to get to that point. started 12 weeks ago at 230, now im 210, by new years the goal is 190 plus doing ab work outs daily. Im not offended, im getting off my ass to one day be in a commercial like that!!!

  21. allana
    November 21, 2010 at 6:20 PM

    no matter what america does with advertising/media there will always be atleast one person that’s unsatifsfied/jealous/offended/sickened… oh oops, you’re not any of those? you don’t have to have an opinion on everything so shut your mouths if you don’t like the commercial. reebok will laugh at your emailed complaints.

    • December 5, 2010 at 11:28 PM

      pot… kettle…

      Never mind. This is one of those wrestling with a pig conversations.

  1. November 11, 2009 at 8:48 AM
  2. January 21, 2014 at 11:33 AM

Leave a comment